You are so Loved Card for OWH

Standard

So, we had a great Thanksgiving, and it just made me feel even more aware of those who are separated from their loved ones during this holiday season. I wanted to make another card for OWH that might help ease that separation a wee bit for a few of our country’s Heroes and their families.

Since OWH is still asking for Valentine/Love cards right now, this is another lovey-dovey card. Its color scheme is pretty similar to the last card that I made. Those colors must be speaking to me right now!

I kept this card extremely simple. The “You are so Loved” word art is a design I downloaded from Silhouette by Echo Park. It was originally green and yellow, but I changed the colors to suit this card. I also turned the design into a print-and-cut instead of a regular cut.

I also modified a scalloped frame so that I would have the two straight edges on the pink matte. To get the white matte, I just did an offset of the pink matte, using my Silhouette Software DE. I also cut these designs out on my Cameo.

The red rectangle matte is cut from Core’dinations paper that I love in Scarlet Pearl. Since we don’t use any glitter for OWH cards, this gives me a little bit of sparkle to work with.

I layered the red, white scallop, and pink scallop mattes together and then ran them through my Cuttlebug, using the Sweetheart embossing folder from Lifestyle Crafts. I adhered the word art on top of the pink matte and then attached a darling piece of ribbon that I found at JoAnn’s fabric store this afternoon. I used a Tiny Attacher to attach the ribbon (how many times can I say “attach??”).

Oh yes! I can’t forget the last bit of bling I was able to add! I used an i-rock gem setter to adhere a tiny little crystal to the top of the word art. Hooray for a little sparkle!

The best part about making this cute little card is that my sweet daughter has been helping me assemble all the elements! We are going to have 22 cards to send to OWH when we are done, and some fun memories to boot!

PS~ I just added my card to retro sketch’s challenge #38! Here is a picture of their sketch:

Leave a Reply

